Dhyan Foundation
Spiritual Equation

Patanjali Yog Sutras

patanjali yoga sutra
Sutra 6

sutra 6 Pramaan virparyay vikalp nidra smritayah
Pramaan virparyay vikalp nidra smritayah

Translation: The five kinds of vrittis as mentioned by Sage Patanjali are pramaan (direct or indirect sensory experience), viparyay (opposite cognition), vikalp (abstract ideas created by words), nidra (sleep) and smriti (memory)

Vrittis or the impediments in the path of Yoga are to do with the mind…The mind remains engrossed in the vrittis and, as a result, it cannot see reality. It is like water in the bowl that is constantly creating ripples…to be able to see the coin (reality) placed at the bottom of the bowl, the water needs to be stilled.

Visitors Please Note!
Dhyan Foundation does not promise or claim to perform any miracles, healings or demonstrate supernatural powers to the practitioners. Please do not come to us looking for any of these. If you are looking to cure a disease, visit a doctor. If you are looking for financial gains, visit a consultant. If you want to mend relationships, visit a counsellor. Come to us when you are desirous of the journey beyond..
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Privacy Policy | Terms & Conidtions | Refund & Cancellation